Single tickets for our night events are now available!
Nuits Sonores Nuits Sonores
17 - 21 May

edito

20 sleepless years

On Wednesday 28 May 2003, Nuits Sonores opened its doors for the very first time at Le Transbordeur in Lyon.

Ellen Allien, one of our very first guests, had just released her first masterpiece – the sumptuously melancholic Berlinette, featuring the timeless anthem “Senhsucht”. All eyes back then were on the legendary Berlin underground, conjuring up images of David Bowie and Nick Cave, of Wim Wenders and Einstürzende Neubauten. Melancholia, in other words. Already, even back then.

Closer to home, we’d seen the launch of the Euro a few months previously and Chirac’s re-election against the extreme right in April 2002. Then in March 2003, a few weeks before the first edition of the festival, French women had taken to the streets to protest against ghettoization and to stand up for equality. During the summer that followed, 300,000 people took part in an anti-globalisation rally on the Larzac plateau, while a deadly heatwave tore through France and Europe. Again, even back then. And on the opening night of Nuits Sonores at the Piscine du Rhône, Lars Von Trier’s new film Dogville was released all over the city, with its soundtrack featuring the wonderful “Young Americans” by David Bowie.

On that Ascension weekend, soon to become synonymous with the festival, Nuits sonores laid the foundations for its future identity: public space, architecture and scenography, passionate investment in urban and industrial heritage, the vitality of the city, a strong participative dimension, a balance between competing aesthetics from the electronic scene and further afield – between the up-and-coming and the already-established, between the local scene and international artists, between levity and seriousness. All driven by the unshakable desire to create, for five days and five nights, a multitude of new ways to experience the city. With organisers, artists and festival-goers united by one conviction: “The city is ours, join us!”

It has been two decades full of magical discoveries and breaks from reality, in the presence of Berlin’s most outlandish duo Cobra Killer, Joy Orbison, Anika, Nicolas Jaar, Omar Souleyman, Nils Frahm, Anetha and Deena Abdelwahed. Of unbridled excitement and clamour upon hearing the first notes of “Born Slippy” by Underworld, “Radioactivity” by Kraftwerk and “Blue Monday” by New Order. Of iconic moments spent in the crowd in front of the New Yorkers ESG and Body & Soul, the supercharged Peaches and Chilly Gonzales, DJ Shadow, the Chemical Brothers and legendary Mancunians The Fall. Of floating away to the sound of sets by loyal regulars such as Jennifer Cardini, Daniel Avery, Flore and, of course, Laurent Garnier, without whom Nuits sonores simply wouldn’t be what it is today.

A political ring

Twenty sleepless years later*, the festival has doubled down on those founding principles. The desire to make the city a collective space for sharing and discovery. To mix, around a dancefloor as real as it is symbolic, all the ingredients that go into making the “political ring” that Arty Farty has created as a space for interaction and debate, for breaking down barriers, for depolarisation and inclusion.

How the world has changed in 20 years. So too, the context surrounding Nuits sonores. The retro-futuristic divide is as immense as that separating the 56k modem that 10 of us shared in our first office from the hundreds of thousands of digital and social interactions that, for better or for worse, are now interspersed throughout the lifespan of any modern festival.

The children of 2003 — whom we can look back on in photos, dancing enthusiastically at the Apéros Sonores on the Rue de l'Arbre Sec or the Boulevard de la Croix-Rousse — have become today’s festival-goers, volunteers, artists.

Since then, the festival has gone through the most stressful periods imaginable, from the terrorist attacks of 2015 to the global pandemic of COVID-19, which have irreversibly transformed the culture industry and, in particular, the essential nightlife sector.

Dance to act!

The initial intuition of making the dancefloor a democratic space has also taken concrete form, with the birth of European Lab 12 years ago but, above all, with an increasing and voluntaristic development of all the essential factors that drive the reinvention of this common space: respect, diversity, equality, inclusiveness, transmission and sharing.

From an artistic perspective, the 20th edition of Nuits Sonores will be resolutely committed to this process, and as such resolutely turned towards the future. With the aim of reinventing new experiences featuring scenes marked by strong aesthetic, political and territorial identities. By placing a greater emphasis on under-represented international scenes — from Asia, Africa and South America, yes, but also from Eastern Europe and above all Ukraine. By combining celebration, contemplation and reflection with a scene built around ambient and, organic music, field recordings and living sounds. By highlighting the local scene and bringing together the artistic families who have constructed these 20 editions by our side. But also, by questioning the status of live music in our Days events, of hip-hop as today’s dominant form of electronic music, or of DIY as a prevailing model of artistic independence.

While this twentieth edition will be resolutely forward-looking and free from the torment and rituals of commemoration, the desire to tell our story will still be enthusiastically embraced.

That story will be the subject of two accompanying editorial projects. Firstly, an urban exhibition unveiled alongside the festival, in which 20 of the most iconic photos from the history of Nuits sonores will be installed in situ at the public space where they were originally taken. Secondly, a series of podcasts telling the story of the festival, with an ensemble cast made up of the team members who have helped to bring Nuits sonores to life over the last two decades, as well as those who have participated in their capacities as artists, volunteers and festival-goers.

You are the people with whom we are determined to celebrate this magnificent birthday, in tribute to a festival that has given us so much, and which we owe our unswerving loyalty and shared commitment to the future. Gently, and without nostalgia

* A reference to the book Nuits sonores, dix ans sans dormir, published in 2013 to mark the 10th anniversary of the festival, whose title was inspired by a wonderful book by Paquita Paquin about her time at Le Palace in Paris.

Nuits sonores, 20 ans : les premiers noms annoncés
Nuits Sonores Nuits Sonores
17 - 21 mai

édito

20 ans sans dormir

Le mercredi 28 mai 2003, la première Nuit de notre histoire ouvrait ses portes au Transbordeur de Lyon.

Ellen Allien, invitée pionnière de ces toutes premières heures, venait de sortir son premier opus, l’incroyable et mélancolique Berlinette, et son hymne inoxydable, « Senhsucht ». Tous les regards sont alors tournés vers ce Berlin mythique et underground, celui qui convoque les images de David Bowie et de Nick Cave, de Wim Wenders et de Einstürzende Neubauten. La mélancolie donc. Déjà, forcément.

Autour de nous, quelques mois plus tôt, la naissance de l’Euro ou Chirac réélu face à l’extrême-droite en avril 2002. Puis en mars 2003, quelques semaines avant cette première édition, « La marche des femmes des quartiers contre les ghettos et pour l’égalité » et pendant l’été qui suit, un rassemblement altermondialiste de 300 000 personnes sur le plateau du Larzac et une canicule meurtrière en France et en Europe. Déjà, encore. Et le soir de l’inauguration de Nuits sonores à la Piscine du Rhône, Dogville, un nouveau Lars Von Trier qui sort sur tous les écrans de la ville avec le merveilleux « Young Americans » dans la BO.

Sur ce week-end de l’Ascension qui deviendra l’un des marqueurs importants du festival, Nuits sonores allait poser les jalons de son identité en devenir : l’espace public, l’architecture et la scénographie, l’investissement passionné des lieux du patrimoine et des sites industriels, l’effervescence urbaine, une forte dimension participative, l’équilibre entre les esthétiques multiples de la scène électronique et d’au-delà — entre émergence et références, entre scène locale et artistes du monde entier, entre sens de la fête et gravité consciente. Avec l’envie inaltérable de construire en cinq jours et cinq nuits une multitude de parcours dans la ville. Organisateur·rices, artistes et publics partageant le même mot d’ordre : « La ville est à nous, rejoignez-nous ! ».

Et pendant deux décennies, combien de découvertes magiques et d’instants volés au réel aux côtés des Berlinoises lunaires de Cobra Killer, Joy Orbison, Anika, Nicolas Jaar, Omar Souleyman, Nils Frahm, Anetha ou Deena Abdelwahed. Combien d’émotions folles et de clameurs en entendant les premières notes du « Born Slippy » d’Underworld, le « Radioactivity » de Kraftwerk ou le « Blue Monday » de New Order. Combien de moments cultes partagés avec le public aux côtés des New-Yorkaises de ESG ou de Body & Soul, des suvolté·es Peaches ou Chilly Gonzales, de Dj Shadow, des Chemical Brothers ou des légendaires Mancuniens de The Fall. Combien enfin, de minutes en apesanteur sur les sets des fidèl·es Jennifer Cardini, Daniel Avery, Flore, ou bien sûr de Laurent Garnier, sans qui Nuits sonores n’aurait tout simplement pas été le même festival.

Ring politique

« 20 ans sans dormir »* plus tard, le festival a renforcé ses fondamentaux. Le désir de faire de la ville un espace collectif de partage et de découvertes. De rassembler autour d’un dancefloor aussi réel que symbolique, les ingrédients de ce « ring politique » qu’Arty Farty revendique comme un espace de rencontres et de débats, de décloisonnement, de dépolarisation et d’inclusion.

Le monde a tellement changé en 20 ans. Le contexte de Nuits sonores aussi. Le gap rétro-futuriste est aussi immense que celui entre le modem 56k que nous partagions à 10 dans notre premier bureau et les centaines de milliers d’interactions numériques et sociales qui rythment désormais la vie de n’importe quel festival, pour le meilleur et pour le pire.

 

Les enfants de 2003, ceux que l’on redécouvre en photo, dansant avec enthousiasme aux Apéros sonores de la rue de l’Arbre Sec ou sur le boulevard de la Croix-Rousse, sont peut-être aujourd’hui festivalièr·es, bénévoles, artistes…

Depuis, le festival a traversé les contextes les plus anxiogènes, des attentats de 2015 à la pandémie mondiale de COVID-19, qui ont irréversiblement bousculé le secteur culturel et en particulier celui, essentiel, de la nuit.

Dance to act!

L’intuition initiale de ce dancefloor comme espace démocratique s’est aussi cristallisée, avec la naissance de European Lab il y a 12 ans, mais surtout avec une prise en compte croissante et volontariste de tous les enjeux essentiels de la réinvention de cet espace commun : respect, diversité, parité, inclusivité, transmission et partage.

Sur le plan artistique, la vingtième édition de Nuits sonores sera résolument engagée en ce sens, et donc résolument tournée vers son futur. Avec l’objectif de réinventer des parcours de scènes aux identités marquées, tant esthétiques que politiques ou territoriales. Assumer une mise en avant plus importante des scènes internationales sous-représentées — d’Asie, d’Afrique, d’Amérique du Sud mais aussi d'Europe de l’Est et plus particulièrement d’Ukraine. Allier fête, contemplation et réflexion, avec une scène autour de l’ambient, de la musique organique, du field recording et du vivant. Mettre en avant les scènes locales et réunir les familles artistiques qui ont contribué à fabriquer ces 20 éditions avec nous. Mais aussi requestionner la place du live sur nos Days, celle du hip-hop comme musique électronique prédominante dans le paysage actuel, ou celle du DIY comme modèle d’indépendance artistique.

Si cette vingtième édition sera résolument prospective et se tiendra à l’abri des affres et des rituels de la commémoration, l’envie de raconter l’histoire sera par ailleurs joyeusement assumée.

Elle fera l’objet de deux projets éditoriaux connexes. D’une part une exposition urbaine inaugurée au moment du festival, et à l’occasion de laquelle 20 des clichés les plus cultes de l’histoire de Nuits sonores seront installés dans l’espace public, in situ, là où ils ont été photographiés. D’autre part une série de podcasts racontant l’épopée du festival de façon chorale, avec toutes les équipes qui ont fait vivre Nuits sonores depuis deux décennies, mais aussi celles et ceux qui l’ont vécu en tant qu’artistes, bénévoles et festivalièr·es.

C’est avec vous toutes et tous que nous voulons fêter ce bel anniversaire : celui d’un festival qui nous a tellement donné, que nous lui devons notre attachement sans faille et notre engagement collectif pour le futur, avec douceur et sans nostalgie.

* Une référence au livre Nuits sonores, dix ans sans dormir, publié en 2013 à l’occasion des 10 ans du festival, et dont le titre était inspiré du beau livre de Paquita Paquin sur les années Palace.