25 - 29 May

ns lab

Nuits sonores & European Lab present NS Lab!

From Wednesday 25 till Saturday 28 May, this programme will offer festival-goers a new experience, neatly complementing Nuits sonores' other programmes: meetings, discussion panels, workshops, training sessions & artistic performances will take place every day between 2 pm and midnight between Hôtel71, H7 and HEAT in the Confluence district of Lyon.

The NS Lab programme is presented with Resident Advisor, shesaid.so France, l'ADAMI, We are Europe, Bellona Magazine, L'atelier des artistes en exil & more to come! We'll see you in April for the full programme announcement. 

NS Lab's formats

Training sessions
& masterclasses

Workshops

Discussion panels
& audio conferences

Dj sets

Meetings
& interviews

Radio Lab

First partners

Editorial

From the ruins of Mariupol to the streets of Kyiv, citizens – musicians, graphic designers and cultural actors among them – are taking up arms to defend the independence and sovereignty of their country. Clubs, cultural venues and restaurants are being transformed into part of the logistical home front, supporting resistance to the Russian invasion, defending an ideal of freedom, pluralism and an attachment to Europe.

Millions of people are being forced into exile, joining refugees from other parts of the world, all fleeing war or despair.

How do we approach the programming of our cultural venues and events in such a context?

It is a moment marked by the return to war in Europe, by the tragic nature of history, by the rise of authoritarianism and cultural isolationism, by a capitalist age whose reach extends all over the world, and by an environmental emergency. Never before have questions over the role of those spaces dedicated to artistic programming and public debate, over the function of the platforms we strive to create to connect artists, activists, philosophers and the European media, been posed with such acuity.

How can we make these spaces and occasions 'useful' to generations who have grown up under the false illusion of the End of History, following the fall of the Berlin Wall and the Iron Curtain, and who are now confronted by such colossal challenges?

How can our means of cultural action, our tools and resources – a music festival, a forum for idea debates, a media incubator, a network, a European cooperation project – accurately reflect the diverse realities within our fractured world and foster collective intelligence, alternative models, solidarity and calls to action?

With the new NS Lab programme, Nuits Sonores and European Lab intend to pose this question with renewed vigour, while reaffirming the major role to be played by club culture, the dancefloor and, more generally, the independent culture sector in contemporary social and cultural transformations.

NS Lab will give the floor to mobilised artists, to scenes in the midst of their own battles, from Eastern Europe to Brazil. Thinkers, journalists and activists will present the keys to understanding the major challenges facing our world. With its finger placed firmly on the pulse of the events and underlying movements that characterise contemporary artistic scenes, NS Lab will be a space for dialogue, a place for interaction and empowerment that espouses a vision running counter to a depoliticised culture that is impervious to its environment and purely hedonistic in nature.

Over four days, this programme will offer festival-goers a new experience – neatly complementing Days and A night with..., the daytime and nocturnal programmes at Nuits Sonores – in the Confluence district of Lyon, spread between Hôtel71 (Arty Farty’s home, as well as a media incubator and creative hub), HEAT (a food court and meeting place) and H7 (a forum and converted halls dedicated to digital innovation).

With NS Lab, the musical programming of Nuits Sonores will be enhanced by idea debates, transmission and testimonies thanks to a series of meetings, interviews, workshops, discussion panels, audio conferences, radio broadcasts, artistic performances, training sessions, masterclasses and speeches.

A core element of the Nuits Sonores project, NS Lab is a platform dedicated to raising awareness about and reflecting on today’s struggles. A sounding board and a place of communion between local populations and European cultural actors. A collective space ensuring that we need not face up to the tragic nature of history alone. An event aimed at (re)positioning political speech at the very heart of the artistic arena.

25 - 29 mai

ns lab

Nuits sonores & European Lab présentent NS Lab !

Du mercredi 25 au samedi 28 mai, ce programme proposera aux festivalièr·es une nouvelle expérience, complémentaire des autres programmes de Nuits sonores : rencontres, panels, workshops, formations & performances artistiques seront au rendez-vous chaque jour de 14h00 à 00h00 entre Hôtel71, H7 et HEAT.

Le programme NS Lab est présenté avec Resident Advisor, shesaid.so France, l'ADAMI, We are Europe, Bellona Magazine, l'atelier des artistes en exil & plus à venir !

Les formats de NS Lab

Formations
& masterclasses

Workshops

Panels
& conférences-écoute

Dj sets

Rencontres
& interviews

Radio Lab

Les premiers partenaires

Édito

Dans les ruines de Marioupol et les rues de Kyiv, des citoyen·nes – parfois des musicien·nes, graphistes, acteur·rices culturel·les — prennent les armes pour défendre l’indépendance et la souveraineté de leur pays. Des clubs, lieux culturels, restaurants se transforment en base arrière logistique pour soutenir la résistance à l’invasion russe, défendre un idéal de liberté et de pluralisme, un attachement à l’Europe.

Des millions de personnes sont contraintes à l’exil, rejoignant tant de personnes réfugiées d’autres régions du monde, fuyant la guerre ou le désespoir.

Comment programmer nos lieux et événements culturels dans un tel contexte ?

À l’heure du retour de la guerre en Europe et du tragique de l’histoire, de la montée des autoritarismes et des replis identitaires, d’un capitalocène dont les effets s’éprouvent sur toute la planète et de l’urgence climatique… Jamais la question du rôle de nos espaces de programmation artistique et de débat public, de la fonction des plateformes que nous nous efforçons de construire pour relier artistes, activistes, philosophes, et médias européens ne s’est posée avec une telle acuité.

Comment faire de ces espaces temps des moments « utiles » à nos générations qui ont grandi, à tort, dans l’illusion d’une fin de l’Histoire postérieure à la Chute du Mur et du rideau de fer, et font face à des défis colossaux ?

Comment nos moyens d’actions culturels, outils et ressources, ceux d’un festival de musique, d’un forum de débat d’idées, d’un incubateur de médias, d’un réseau et de coopérations européennes, peuvent-ils rendre compte de réalités plurielles au sein d’un monde fracturé, produire de l’intelligence collective, des modèles alternatifs, de la solidarité, des incitations à l’action ?

Avec le nouveau programme NS Lab, Nuits sonores et European Lab entendent reposer avec force cette question, tout en réaffirmant le rôle majeur des club cultures, du dancefloor et plus globalement du secteur culturel indépendant dans les transformations sociales et culturelles contemporaines.

NS Lab donnera la parole à des artistes mobilisé·es, à des scènes en luttes, de l’Est du continent européen jusqu’au Brésil. À des penseur·euses, journalistes et activistes, pour offrir des clés de compréhension des grands défis auxquels le monde fait face. En prise à l’actualité et aux mouvements de fonds qui traversent les scènes artistiques contemporaines, NS Lab veut être un espace de dialogue, un lieu de rencontre et d’empowerment qui s’inscrit dans une vision à rebours d’une culture dépolitisée, imperméable à son environnement, purement hédoniste.

Pendant 4 journées, ce programme proposera aux festivalièr·es une nouvelle expérience —complémentaire des Days et de A night with…, le programme nocturne de Nuits sonores — à Lyon Confluence, entre Hôtel71, maison d’Arty Farty mais aussi incubateur média et hub créatif, HEAT, food-court et lieu de convivialité et les Halls et le forum d’H7, lieu dédié à l’innovation numérique.

Avec NS Lab, le débat d’idées, la transmission et le témoignage viennent augmenter la programmation musicale de Nuits sonores par des rencontres, interviews, workshops, panels de discussion, conférences-écoutes, plateaux-radios, performances artistiques, formations et masterclasses, prises de parole.

Au cœur de Nuits sonores, NS Lab est une plateforme de visibilisation et de réflexions sur des luttes en cours. Une caisse de résonance et un lieu de connexion entre communautés locales et personnalités culturelles européennes. Un espace collectif pour ne pas rester seul·es face au tragique de l’Histoire. Un événement pour (re)mettre de la parole politique au cœur de l’arène artistique.

La programmation en détail :